Paradise. War Zone. Pillowtalk.

Standard

How many of you were not prepared for Zayn to hit us right in our musical souls with “Pillowtalk?” I pressed play and admittedly just sat there mesmerized. By the lyrics. By the artistic aspect of the music video. And side note, can we talk about how beautiful Gigi looked?

This week when I was seeing the quotes from Zayn about always wanting to leave One Direction, my first reaction was something along the lines of ‘c’mon, man, show some gratitude for what brought you to where you are today.’ But now that I’ve done more research and read more of what he said, I don’t really blame the guy.

“I think I always kind of wanted to go. From like the first year really, I never really wanted to be there in the band. I just gave it a go because it was there at the time and then when I realized the direction we were going in with the music, I instantly realized it wasn’t for me because I realized I couldn’t put any input in; I couldn’t give my opinion on this or that because it didn’t fit the grain of what we were as a band or what we represented. So that’s when it became frustrating for me, that’s when I had to be like, I’ve got to start thinking about myself,” Zayn basically said in his Beats 1 interview.’

Having no say in the creative direction of your music has to be hell. And yes, some people may call him ungrateful and maybe there is a hint of that in all of this. No one’s exempt from mistakes. But think about it. Imagine singing songs and creating music that your heart just isn’t in? That can’t be very thrilling.

Was he selfish? I won’t judge him on that aspect because I don’t see focusing on yourself in your career and striving to create what you love and what makes you happy as something so wrong. Everyone is obviously going to have their own opinion on all of this and they have every right to that. I’m just not going to toss someone under the bus for fighting to do what makes him happy in life.

I guess when he decided to leave felt right to him and to constantly throw negative light his way is just so tiresome. One Direction (even now that the band is on its break) is still successful doing their thing without Zayn and Zayn, I’m sure, will be experiencing plenty of his own success if his debut single is anything to go by.

Just enjoy the music! Don’t compare Zayn’s music with 1D’s new music either and critique them against each other. Because it’s clear they’re different. That doesn’t mean you can’t like both though. I honestly loved Made In The A.M. and it actually brought back my love for 1D. Because, yes, I was a One Direction fan from the early days and even though I did step back for a little while, I can definitely say I’m a fan again. There’s also nothing wrong with that so please don’t go attacking me and throwing out the ‘not a true fan’ argument. All love here, for 1D and Zayn.

So I wish Zayn all the best and I can’t wait to hear the rest of his album which is titled Mind of Mine, by the way. He said there are “about 17-18 songs” although a release date has not been announced as of yet. While we wait, we’ll just have to hit replay on “Pillowtalk.”

Until next time, leave me your thoughts on all of this and check out the music video for “Pillowtalk” below!

Leave a Reply

